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DPH announces human rabies death

On August 27, 2018, the Division of Public Health
(DPH) announced that a Kent County woman had
died from rabies, the state’s second death due to
the infectious disease since 1941.

To prevent rabies, avoid touching
unfamiliar animals and vaccinate pets
(dogs, cats and ferrets over the age of
6 months as required by state law).
Consult with a veterinarian regarding
vaccination of livestock and horses.

Anyone who has been bitten, scratched by, or come
in close contact with a stray, wild, or unfamiliar
animal should immediately contact their health care
provider or call the DPH Rabies Program at 302-
744-4995 (during business hours) or 1-888-295-
5156 (outside of business hours). An epidemiologist
is available 24/7.

To report a sick or hurt wild animal, call the
Delaware Department of Natural Resource and
Environmental Control’s Wildlife Section at 302-
735-3600 or 302-739-9912.

DMV offers Medical Indicator option

Delaware drivers and photo identification
cardholders can voluntarily have medical conditions
displayed on their cards, the Division of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) announced in August.

Delawareans who want a Medical Indicator added
must complete and sign a form indicating their
the condition on the back of the card and the
medical indicator symbol on the front. -

The cardholder does not have to go *
Medical Indicator on their card.

"The Delaware Trauma System

operates under the saying, 'Getting the right patient
DPH Director Dr. Karyl T. Rattay. “This valuable
tool will assist our first responders when providing
care in the field during a medical emergency."
quickly tailor their emergency care to the person
encountering a medical emergency, especially if
they are unconscious or otherwise unable to

condition, which gives the DMV permission to list
through their doctor to request a

to the right facility in the right amount of time," said
First responders who see the Medical Indicator can
communicate.
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It's time to get your annual

flu vaccination

To be protected against the flu, DPH

advises Delawareans age 6 months

and older to get their flu shots soon,
preferably by the end of October.

DPH is holding two large flu clinics that offer
FREE flu vaccines. They are for anyone age 9
years and up, and will be held rain or shine, on
these dates:

New Castle County: Oct. 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to
2:30 p.m. outside the Porter State Service
Center, 509 W. 8th St., Wilmington, Delaware.

Kent County: Oct. 9, 2018, 7:00 a.m. to 6:00
p.m. in front of the Delaware Department of
Transportation’s Administration Building,

800 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware. ltis a drive-
thru flu clinic with a walk-up option.

To find other flu clinics in Delaware, visit
flu.delaware.gov or call 1-800-282-8672.

September is National
Preparedness Month

National Preparedness Month, celebrated in
September, reminds us to be prepared for
natural or man-made emergencies. Follow
these steps:

¢ Create a household preparedness kit, or
refresh an existing one. Recycle old
backpacks to use in case of an evacuation.
Find supply checklists at
www.ready.gov/build-a-kit and
www.preparede.org/.

e Know evacuation routes.

e Review insurance policies, and purchase
flood insurance in high-risk areas.

¢ Inventory your belongings with a list and
photos or video.

¢ Clear gutters and drainage areas, repair
roofs, and trim branches.

e Share emergency contact numbers with
family members.

Help family and friends with access and
functional needs plan with the Preparedness
Buddy brochure at
https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/php/p
reparednessbuddy.html.
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